Jake is taking the instrument to a place that I can’t see anyone else catching up with Eddie Vedder

“Gorgeous” Rolling Stone

“The Jimi Hendrix of the Ukulele” BBC Breakfast

“There's an unexpected sophistication that defies the instrument's perceived limitations.” CNN


Jake Shimabukuro has been redefining what the ukulele is capable of for the last 20 years, and on 14 February 2020, he returns with his new album ‘Trio,’ his first on Music Theories Recordings, a division of Mascot Label Group.

“People call me ‘an ambassador for the ukulele,’ but I really don’t see myself that way,” Shimabukuro says. “I’m simply a fan of the instrument. Ever since I was a kid, I just loved playing it, and over time, I started to realize that you could do more than just play traditional songs on it. You can play heavy metal riffs and make different sounds. You can make it rock like an electric guitar. There’s no end to what you can do on the ukulele, and it’s been rewarding for me to show that to people all over the world. I still love and respect traditional music, but I also enjoy exploring other sounds on the instrument.”

For the past five years, bassist Nolan Verner has been a constant presence on stage and in the studio with Shimabukuro, and two years ago, guitarist Dave Preston joined the fold. The three clicked so well on the road and during the recording of Shimabukuro’s 2018 album, ‘The Greatest Day,’ that the ukulele master decided to document their sonic alchemy in a more official way on his newest album, ‘Trio.’ Unlike previous releases that sometimes featured studio musicians, this would be a true band album, with the only sounds performed by Shimabukuro, Verner and Preston, and many of the songs would be written spontaneously in the studio. In this way, ‘Trio’ marks a bold and exciting new era in Shimabukuro’s already remarkable career.

Download the full
English bio:







To download the album art, right click on the image and choose save image as.
To download the album art, right click on the image and choose save image as.


1.      When The Masks Come Down
2.      Twelve
3.      Resistance
4.      Lament
5.      Red Crystal
6.      Morning Blue
7.      Summer Rain
8.      Wish You Were Here
9.      Fireflies
10.    Wai'alae
11.    On The Wing
12.    Strong In Broken Places
13.    Landslide

Album info:

Release date: February 14, 2020
Available formats:

Additional info:

You need to Log In to see all the content (Press & promoters only).
If you don't have a login, please request access using the contact form page.


Download the album art, photos, bio etc.:




To download the high-resolution version, please right click on the photos and choose "save link as" to start download.
If you want to download all the photos at once, please download the press pack.